Kanji? Hiragana? Katagana?

Modern Japanese is written in a mixture of three basic scripts: Kanji — which are Chinese ideographic symbols — as well as Hiragana and Katakana — two phonetic alphabets (syllables).


Learning hiragana is the first step in learning how to read and write Japanese – indeed it is the first of the three Japanese scripts that Japanese children learn.


I recently found this out when one of my students was using Google translate to understand a very specific academic word. She discovered the word was translated into Kanji something too complex for a child her age. After listening to the word several times to be sure she then made a note of it in Hiragana for herself on a post-it note to take home and share with her parents.


This reminded me that EAL students faced with multiple challenges on a daily basis are resourceful in a way that is often overlooked. Well done Jun !

Related posts

Reading at Home

Parents!  Please check out this link, which includes some tips for reading with your child at home.  Multiple languages included  – please...

IICS Primary EAL

English As An Additional Language (Primary)   IICS is an international school with a history of offering a rigorous and caring programme for...

Leave a Reply